Valuing a diamond: clarity and weight

Diamonds purity scale

Valuing a diamond: clarity and weight

To value a diamond it is necessary to know its 4C’s: weight (carat), color (color), purity (clarity) and size (cut) and in two posts on the subject we will explain it to you.

Diamonds are formed over thousands of years under enormous pressure and temperature. This process leaves inclusions in diamonds that determine their purity in the diamond.

The purer a diamond, the more light it receives and reflects, producing a greater amount of brilliance than lower-clarity diamonds.

Purity scale:

The degree of purity of a diamond is determined according to the number, size and position of its external marks and inclusions, using a 10x magnification (10X) magnifying glass.

The most widely used purity scale, from the GIA gemological laboratory, is divided into 11 grades ranging from the highest grade of purity (FL or Flawless) to grade I (inclusions visible to the naked eye).

Diamond Weight:

The weight of a diamond is measured in carats (1 qt = 0.20 grams)  

We will continue  with the information about the diamond.

Germán Joyero’s team

Share this post