Free shipping or store pickup

Characteristics of diamonds

The four characteristics that determine the value of a diamond are called "4C's" are: Carat (weight or carats), Color, Clarity (purity) and Cut (size) that would add one last factor would be the fluorescence.

Diamonds unlike other gemstones follow a publicly traded according to their weight, color and purity, which is determined weekly in Antwerp and published in the call list Rapaport. Only professional gemologists and prestigious gemological laboratories can determine exactly the qualities of the diamond, so in the case of diamonds of a certain size should always ask the certificate of the stone.


The weight of a diamond is measured in carats (1 ct = 0.20 grams), and is the most crucial to estimate the price of a diamond factor. The two key concepts to keep in mind regarding the price are:

  • The price of diamonds increases exponentially with respect to weight, thus a one carat diamond is worth twice as much as half carat diamond but about four times.
  • The price of diamonds is determined by block, so a diamond of 0.49 carats despite being visually almost identical to one 0.50 carat will be cheaper, belonging to the block trading 0.40 to 0.49 carats, significantly cheaper than from 0.50 to 0.59 carats.


The color of a diamond greatly influences the beauty and the price of it. The more colorless, the better quality.

The color scale most used today is the GIA gemological laboratory which it is used in most jewelry stores. This scale orders color diamonds alphabetically from D (colorless) to Z (yellow or brown) and equivalence among scales are as follows. 

  • Colors D to E - River - white excepcional
  • Colors G to F - Top Wesselton - white Extra
  • Color H - Wesselton - white
  • Colors J to I - Top Crystal - white with light color
  • Colors K to L - Crystal - Light color
  • Colors Z to M - Cape, light yellow y yellow - Color


Diamonds are formed over thousands of years under enormous pressure and temperature. This process leaves a inclusions in diamonds determining its purity diamond. The purest is a diamond, more amount of light received and reflected, producing more brightness than diamonds of lower purity.

The purity of a diamond is determined by the number, size and position of its external and inclusions brands, using a 10-power magnification (10X) and the most widely used scale of purity, the GIA gemological laboratory, is divided into 11 grades ranging from the highest purity (FL or Flawless) to grade I (inclusions visible to the naked eye, also called pique). The categories are as follows:

  • F and IF to completely pure diamond
  • VVS1 and VVS2, which means Very, Very Slightly Included for diamonds with almost imperceptible imperfections
  • VS1 and VS2, meaning Very Slightly Included
  • SI1 and SI2, which means Slightly Included
  • I1, I2 and I3, for diamonds with inclusions visible to the naked eye also called pique or chopped.

Of these categories should rule chopped diamonds called I1, I2 and I3 and as for the rest of categories will depend on the economy, but logically the purer the better.


The size influences the price in two ways: On the one hand the type size and other quality of the carving.

  • Although there are many possible sizes, the most common for taking full advantage of the brilliant-cut diamonds is (the whole world imagna to think of a diamond), which is also usually the most expensive. Examples of other sizes would also very popular princess, oval, heart, esmaralda, pear or cushion.
  •  As for the quality of this size is a key to a diamond shine and do not always pay enough attention you look. Diamonds with good symmetry and provided always better reflect light and shine more. The scale that is used today includes the following grades: Excellent, Very Good, Good, Fair and Poor. Generally being Excellent and Very Good that we should buy to have a stone with a good reflection diamonds.


Finally, we should consider another factor that influences the price of a diamond, although not included in the four Cs, which would be the fluorescence of the stone. This property in principle should not affect the value of diamonds, but the fact remains that there are people who do not like their stone shine in dark situations neon light (discos), so in general the stones Fluorescence called "Strong" are worth a little less.